Rough Draft Thinking

Just another WordPress.com site

Hi my name is… January 6, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — bvanetten @ 8:53 pm

Hi. My name is Bonnie and I am interested in almost everything. I like books, and nail polish, and Martha Stewart. I firmly believe that Back to the Future is the best movie of all time, and  I grew up in LA and went to college in Chicago and now I live in Pittsburgh. I have a Masters degree in what can loosely be described as Pirate Studies, and I know more about History than is useful on a day-to-day basis. Now I’m almost grown up, and I’m about to be a teacher. I’m currently doing my student teaching and getting a second Masters at the University of Pittsburgh, so I spend most of my time and energy on teaching these days.

Rough Draft Thinking is what we would do and say if we thought no one was listening, or we were sure no one would judge us before we had a chance to think through our ideas. This almost never happens in real life, because we are trained to always be ready with final draft thinking. When we think we will be criticized or evaluated, sometimes we spend more time worrying about refining our speech and impressing others than we spend on the thought process. That’s why I’m calling this space Rough Draft Speech; it’s a place for thinking through problems and ideas without the threat of being held to early versions or conclusions. This is something I need while I am thinking about my ideas about teaching, and it is something I hope I can teach my students how to do in their own lives. That, and naming the blog “Dear Diary” seemed kindof weak.

Keep Calm and Rock on,

Bonnie

 

Leave a Reply

