Rough Draft Thinking

Just another WordPress.com site

Laying Groundwork for Literacy Community Building January 17, 2012

Filed under: Education,Literacy — bvanetten @ 4:10 am
 

3 Responses to “Laying Groundwork for Literacy Community Building”

  1. nancygolio Says:

    Bonnie,
    I love your ideas for literacy community. I think you are truly having students take charge of their own literacy community by presenting books that they enjoyed to their peers. The literacy community project is one that I’m struggling with in my own classroom, and I wish I had an opportunity like “independent reading Fridays” to enact something similar to your ideas. Currently, we are barreling through 4 chapters of The Hunger Games per week because we have to get through the novel in 7 weeks…

    -N

    • bvanetten Says:

      I know exactly what you mean. It’s unfortunate, because reading isn’t an activity that’s meant to be done quickly or with deadlines, in my opinion. And if we have to always have them, it’s difficult to teach students how to enjoy something under pressure – whether it’s assigned reading or pleasure reading.

  2. Bonnie,

    I’m glad to hear that you are feeling better about this coming week (actually, the current week). I definitely know (and am pretty sure my students know too) the feeling you were talking about upon coming back from the holiday! That said, it seems like as the weeks have gone on, your kids (and mine, too) have become more acclimated to the school environment.

    You mentioned that one thing you were not too excited about was the drama aspect of this unit. I wonder if there are some ways that you can spice this up. If you’re not excited about this, then odds are it will be harder for the students to get engaged with it. It seems like the history aspects of it have helped with this, but I wonder if there are some other supplemental things you can bring in to this unit? Also, how are you dealing with the “acting”? Are you staging things, or are you just having people read it? I have found that the former, while kids always seem to say it’s corny and a waste of their time, is almost always a more engaging way to go about it. I don’t know about your time constraints, but it could be something cool to try. Hope the rest of the week goes well! See you tomorrow! (And let’s try not to lose any disposition points this week, k?)

    -Jordan


Leave a Reply

